► Vessel Visiting: June 27, 2016

MONDAY 27 JUNE 2016

Journey: Triple L Estate – the Beach – Triple L Estate
Passengers Journey 1: Matthew, Captain Kristine

Journey: Triple L Estate – September Song, Calvert Marina – Island Hideaway, Solomons Island – Triple L Estate
Passengers Journey 2: Lori, Matthew, Captain Kristine
5671 matt
Matt wanted to use the fly bridge today, since it is such a beautiful day. I agreed. As long as he took responsibility for uncovering and recovering the helm. Deal.

Matt and I first went to the Beach in order to borrow back our infant size life vest in preparation of having O in a few weeks. I don’t plan on taking her out on the boat, but I would like to take her swimming. We briefly chatted with C, enjoying the view before returning home for Lori.

5680 work boat 5695 pt patience boat

5730 rv kerhinWe picked Lori up at Triple L Estate then headed to Calvert Marina to visit September Song. We pulled in front of a sailboat, opposite to September Song’s position. Since it was Matt’s first time on September Song, Bob gave him a nice tour. We talked with September Song for an hour or two. At one point the marina came down to investigate why our boat was docked at their pier.

5731 rv kerhinWhile chatting, the wind had picked up a bit, pushing our vessel into the marina’s floating dock. This made for an even trickier departure. I asked Bob to hold our bow line so I could swing the stern out in my effort to avoid the sailboat. Unfortunately, I nudged the piling, but I did miss the sailboat. It didn’t surprise me to see the sailboat owners watching closely from their vessel, wondering if they would need to jump into action to protect their boat. I would have done the same.

5735 roseMatt, Lori and I next traveled to Island Hideaway for an early dinner. We had hoped to introduce Matt to some of the ‘family’ working at the restaurant. That didn’t happen; I suspect because we sat outside. We had a nice meal. While seated we noticed the wind pick up even more. Again, we had a tricky departure from the pier. I made sure to have the bow thruster available for use … and use it I did.

On our way out of the Solomons channel, we encountered wind and waves coming up river from the Bay. Lori made sure to close the port door. Once we made the u-turn around the island’s tip, we had rolling seas for a more comfortable ride home.

Time: 12:30 pm – 4:30 pm
Conditions: sunny, warm not too muggy; wind picked up in late afternoon
Vessel: ‘Gurlz Gotta Eat’

Leave a Reply

