► From Far and Wide: September 25, 2015

FRIDAY 25 SEPTEMER 2015

Journey: Triple L Estate – Kingfishers, Solomons Island – Solomons Yachting Center, Solomons – Triple L Estate

R/V Savanna

R/V Savanna

As I’ll be traveling tomorrow for Angola and Kenya, with a long weekend in Delft, Netherlands on my return, we wanted to top off the fuel before I left. Since we planned on going to the island I asked to please have lunch also on the island. We chose to go to Kingfishers – a rather obvious choice for us.

To my delight, as we entered Solomons channel, I saw the R/V Savannah docked at the Biological Station along with the Rachel Carson. I wonder if this means it will be the final days for 5367 rv savannaR/V Savannah to be in our area. Most likely it will be long gone before my return.5380 savanna rachel carson

5387 gypsea

Gypsea

We first went to Kingfishers to eat. While there I had an IPL from Magic Hat Brewery called “Dream Machine.” One of the bonuses of drinking a Magic Hat is to see the quote under the cap. A bit of a mantra, one might say. What amazes me – for all the Magic Hats that I’ve drank, I have never gotten the same saying twice. My ‘mantra’ for today read: “Travel wide but not to hide.” How appropriate!

5419 rv savannah

After eating we then went to Solomons Yachting Center for fuel.
The gauge read: 36.0 gallons used
Filled: 38.6 gallons @ 152.0/151.1 hours
Price: $2.75/gallon = $106.90

 

S/V Juno Cowes, Isle of Wight

S/V Juno
Cowes, Isle of Wight

After fueling we then headed home so I could make final departure arrangements.

 

5428 juno cowes

S/V Juno Cowes, Isle of Wight

Time: 1:30 pm – 4:00 pm
Conditions: rough water, cloudy sky
Vessel: ‘Gurlz Gotta Eat’

Leave a Reply

