► Carpooling: September 20, 2015

SUNDAY 20 SEPTEMBER 2015

Journey: Triple L Estate- Broomes Island – Southern Acres, Island Creek – Triple L Estate – Southern Acres, Island Creek – Stoney’s, Broomes Island – Triple L Estate

2608 kristineLori had to work at Stoney’s Fed Ex Field for today’s game. I too her up to Stoney’s in order to meet up with others carpooling to the stadium. I jokingly sent a text to Jeannie asking for the location of the bar’s hide-a-key so we could have a morning cocktail as we waited.

After the carpool’s departure, I decided to cruise by Southern Acres to determine how difficult it might be to dock, due to the wind, as I had plans to return in the afternoon. As I cruised by I noticed a boat docked where I had hoped to utilize later. I was about to turn around when I noticed Tommy on the porch waving at me to come ashore. He came down to the pier and I docked along a side pier finger with only my bow against the pier and my stern and mid cleats tied to outer pilings. A unique spot, but it worked.

Julie was still in bed. Tommy told me to go up and wake her up. I was very tempted as I wanted to snap a photo and send it to Lori saying, “Look who I’m in bed with.” But, I just could not bring myself to wake her up…. I knew that Julie wouldn’t do that to me so I didn’t want to do it to her.

I met Tommy’s friends who had the boat docked in the spare slip. I found out they live in Swan Point, so they were of course familiar with Lori. To make it an even smaller world, he is a retired Charles County cop and knows our friend Sheriff Dale. I had a cup of coffee and a few bites of breakfast that Tommy cooked. Shortly before leaving, Julie did come down so I had a chance to chat with her for a bit before I headed back home. I spent a few hours at home, working. I then gathered together my things, including food for Sophie, and the two of us headed back up river to Southern Acres to celebrate Mary’s birthday.

The river was still quite rough. I hoped for calmer seas in Island Creek for easier docking. Upon arrival at Southern Acres I didn’t see anyone moving around. Their friends from earlier has left … or at least their boat was gone. I wondered if I had the wrong time. I then noticed Who Ray IV entering Island Creek. As they passed Stoney’s I deduced they, too, must be coming for the party. I decided to wait for Who Ray IV to arrive, let them take the now available slip, and I would dock at the end of the pier like we did the day of the raft up. When they arrived, Tommy suggested they tie up behind Miss Ellen.

As I drifted off-shore, they made MULTIPLE unsuccessful attempts to tie up before finally aborting the effort and move to the actual slip. If I had known it would take them so long I would not have waited… but FINALLY they were tied up. I then came in to the end, docking bow into the wind which placed my port side to the pier making it more difficult to run my lines. Fortunately, Tommy and Eric assisted with catching lines.

We had a bit of a struggle getting Sophie off the boat. I had to essentially pick her up as Tommy grabbed her. I am so glad I took Sophie. It’s the first time she’s been around Reggie since Sammy passed away. Sophie seemed to remember Reggie as she seemed very leery to go near him at first – avoiding him and always watching him out of the corner of her eye. At one point I heard an aggressive snarl and snapping. I thought it was Reggie again going after Sophie. Julie saw it and said, “No, it was Sophie that had done the growling.” “REALLY? That is so unlike Sophie. Good for her for finally standing up for herself.”

Eventually they worked things out and actually started to play. Very rarely do I see Sophie engaging another dog in play mode. Julie was so happy, too, she said Reggie only runs around when he’s happy. Excellent, they are friends now.

2613 o dark 30 double dWe stayed for quite a while … until they had drank all the bottles of champagne. We then headed to Stoney’s. Eric rode with me while Karen, who had come with them, and Donna rode with Barry, We parked on the inside wall, protected from the wind. O’Dark 30 and Double D were rafted up along the wall. They had been at Solomons Docking Contest. I had planned on stopping by, but with all the wind and rough water I didn’t think a raft up at Solomons would be a good idea. I found out later that I was correct. In fact, their raft up anchors had actually lost hold and they drifted before resetting anchors.

At around 5:00 pm Lori texted to say she thought they might leave the stadium by 6. I was glad I had thought to bring food for Sophie … although people on Double D were being bad by giving Sophie snacks. I finally had to put my foot down and say – NO MORE SNACKS otherwise I would have a sick dog.

5187 bridgeBarry asked me a few different times, “Isn’t Lori going to be made because you stayed here the entire day instead of going home like you said you were going to do?” Finally, to get my point across I said, “Lori doesn’t give a shit what I do as long as I’m safe.” He didn’t seem fully convinced but eventually let it go.

I had an ok time at Broomes. I did more watching and standing off to the side than I did talking … which made some people a bit nervous. Not until 7 did I get a message from Lori that they were preparing to leave the stadium. By the time they arrived at Broomes Eric and Karen were quite drunk. We worried about Eric falling off the pier as he walked to the boat.

Lori and I stayed a bit later so that the stadium crew could “decompress” and relax. On our way home I asked Lori how she felt about being dropped and picked up by boat. She admitted it was pretty cool. Excellent.

Time: (1) 7:20 am – 9:40 am (2) 12:35 pm – 9:30 pm
Conditions: windy, lovely morning with no fog – unlike yesterday, cloudy in afternoon
Vessel: ‘Gurlz Gotta Eat’

Leave a Reply

