► Red Hats: September 19, 2015

SATURDAY 19 SEPTEMBER 2015

Journey: Triple L Estate – Solomons Yachting Center, Solomons – Triple L Estate – Patuxent River – Triple L Estate

(I) 10:30 am – 11:40 am; mostly flat water

4946 quintessenceIn the morning I went, alone, to Solomons in order to top up on fuel. As I headed towards the island I noticed the R/V Savannah, which I had seen on the Patuxent River across from Point Patience, anchored near the base. I continued onward to Solomons Yachting Center. As I rounded Molly’s Leg it seemed like rush hour at the fueling dock. A trawler sat tied to the dock, fueling. A cuddy cabin just finished 5013 alcyonefueling and began casting off. A large sailboat drifted in the area waiting for an opening while a cat sailboat tried to weave its way through to exit its slip.

When the cuddy cabin had cleared the area I went to the very end, knowing the sailboat could fit behind me after the trawler finished. As I tied up the fellow working the pumps right away asked, “You’re alone? And you don’t even have the dog.” Hum, I guess we’re officially regulars.

5022 dive team

 

 

 

 

 

5033 rv savannahOn my way out I decided to take a closer look at R/V Savannah. I circumnavigated around her to have a nice look from all sides … taking photos, of course. (Hello – what is that new Coast Guard Watch program to report suspicious activity? America’s Waterway Watch. Will this be the time that someone finally calls to report me?) After circling around getting a good look I headed for home.

5047 rv savannah5056 rv savannah5072 rv savannah5094 rv savannah

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5100 fireWhile heading up river I noticed a lot of black smoke from behind the trees. I wondered what was on fire. I then saw the Maryland Rescue helicopter fly by – that is never a good sign. I learned later that a boat had caught on fire which injured three children.

water rescue 1water rescue 2water rescue 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(II) 4:50 pm – 5:25 pm

5140 boatEarlier this summer Sis asked if she could host her Red Hat club at our house. Of course we said yes, and today was that day. We originally had other plans for the day and didn’t expect to be home. Those plans, Clarkes Landing Boat Docking Contest, had been canceled so we hung out at the house to assist Sis. We offered to take people out for a boat ride, which appealed to some.

At the end of their luncheon four ladies stayed for a boat ride. I captained from the upper helm. One of the ladies joined me on top. Two sat in the aft seats while the other sat at the bow with Lori. I had originally suggested going down the Patuxent River, circle around R/V Savannah and return.

As we rode along the woman that sat with me mentioned that her husband refurbished boats. She then asked if I knew Tommy. Her husband had worked on Miss Ellen.

5155 sea plane5165 sea plane

 

 

 

 

It was a bit rougher than earlier. As we crossed under the bridge I noticed that the Savannah had left. Because it was a bit rough, it was suggested we return home. The ladies sitting in the aft choose to move into the pilot house for the return ride. As we entered Cuckold Creek we saw the sea plane taking off. That was pretty cool. We’ve been seeing this plane on various creeks in the area, and on the Patuxent River, but this is the first time we saw it on our creek. Even for such a short ride the women were so very appreciative. I am so happy we took them out since they all seemed to enjoy themselves.

5170 red hats sis

Engine Hrs: (I) 146.6/145.7 – 147.5/146.6; (II) 147.5/146.6 – 148.0/ 147.2
Conditions: very foggy, humid morning; waited until fog burned off and finally had clear(ish) blue sky
Vessel: ‘Gurlz Gotta Eat’, Beneteau Barracuda 9

Fuel gauge read: 69.3 gallons used hrs: 147.0/146.1
Filled: 70.2 gallons

Leave a Reply

