► Brilliant Day Off: June 29, 2015

MONDAY 29 JUNE 2015

Journey: Triple L Estate – Blackstone Marina, Hollywood, MD – Patuxent River – Triple L Estate

2916 capt loriHaving learned from past years of Broomes Island Boat Docking Contests, I took today off. Brilliant. We took this opportunity to ride over to Blackstone Marina in order to pump-out the head. As I prepared the boat I noticed we had quite a calm day. As Lori walked to the boat I asked if she’d be interested in learning how to drive. She thought that a fine idea.

I explained about how the boat handles while backing and when using motors separately. She backed out of the slip then said she’d rather me show her what I mean rather than tell her while2910 sailboat she stood at the helm. I agreed and did a brief demonstration in our cove. We decided to first pump out the head and then let her practice in the larger, open water in front of Blackstone. She did fine during her practice maneuvers using motors independently after which she expected we would go home. I asked if she’d like to go out to the river in order to feel the boating getting up on plane. Yep. Away we went.

2903 bridgeWe cruised down river, under the bridge, and almost to the Pier when we had to turn around and head for home. Lori captained all the way until docking completion.

At about 1 pm the Boyz came to pick me up at the house. Lori stayed behind to work on the electric at the dock with Bobby. As soon as I boarded the boat 2927 cargo shipBarry handed controls over to me. We went to Kingfishers, Solomons Island, for lunch. I captained the entire way except for docking at Kingfishers.

post 2951 barge

2986 ospreysEngine Hrs: 108.5 – 109.2
Time: 10:00 am – 11:10 am
Conditions: sunny, calm
Vessel: ‘Gurlz Gotta Eat’

Leave a Reply

