► Making it Happen: May 22, 2015

Friday 22 May 2015

Journey: Triple L Estate – Stoney’s, Broomes Island – Triple L Estate

We went up to Broomes since it was Friday night, boating season, nice weather and Stoney’s would be open. I knew some friends were out of town for the holidays. I wondered how many friends would be at the Nationals’ home game this evening. Our neighbors, with their two kids, went to the game – complete with a parking pass. Score. Because of holiday travel and the game, I didn’t expect to see too many locals, but we ended up having a really fun, and unexpected evening.

Early in the evening Jeannie told us the new shirts arrived – shirts that Lori helped pick out earlier this season while I was overseas. She then asked if we wanted to see them. Of course! So we followed her through a door I had never used. “Of course not, it’s the employee only door. You’re now officially employee status.” We walked into a small office filled with many shipping boxes full of shirts.

0391 jeannie shirtThere were three choices, blue, neon orange (which Lori had suggested Jeannie order), and bright pink. Lori picked out an orange shirt for herself, but didn’t put it on because her dark colored bra would show through the thin white portions of the shirt. Jeannie pulled out a pink shirt for herself, and whipped off the shirt she was wearing. As she stood there in her pretty orangish bra, she wondered if it would also show through. We compared the pink and orange shirts with her bra and convinced her the orange shirt went much better with her bra. She slipped one on and we looked closely to determine if we could see her bra. Just a little, but hardly noticeable and it looked great.

Returning to the bar she pulled up a picture of the Docking Contest t-shirt design. I really like it, and will want one of those!

We ended up sitting and talking with locals we don’t usually spend time with, which included a fellow we met last December for the Jingle Bell 5K in Solomons. Found out he’s a PG County cop and will soon be patrolling DC area waterways, including Anacostia. Yikes. While chatting, we noticed a group of young ladies coming in. Three of them walked by and I noticed the shorter one had on high heels that had at least 2 inches added to the entire sole. Even though her two friends wore flat sandals they were both still taller than her. These three met up with even more young ladies and they all walked down to the pier.

I mentioned it would be funny to get all these ladies on our boat, line them along the back, and take a photo with the transom that reads “Gurlz Gotta Eat”. The PG County cop, Charles, thought it was a great idea. I mentioned my idea to Lori and she said, “Well, make it happen.” Just as I prepared to go down and ask, they had all returned to their table. I didn’t want to go alone, so Charles tried to talk his young 20-something son into joining me. He would not, so Charles agreed, but first needed to use the facilities.

I went up to the table of ladies and asked if they would participate in a photo opportunity. I explained that I owned the boat tied up and my photo op idea. When I told them the name of the boat they all cracked up laughing and agreed to the photo. I told them, however, that no shoes would be allowed as they had mostly dressy shoes. They quickly started kicking off their shoes. I told them we had to wait for my friend to arrive who would be helping. Although they looked young and possibly dressed up for graduation, we learned they had gathered to celebrate one of the women having just completed Army boot camp.

0400 gurlz gotta eat ladiesWe walked down to the boat, they all climbed aboard and we had a small little photo shoot. I had tried to get some of the other fellows to come down in order to take advantage of this photo shoot, but no other fellow would follow. Afterwards I went up to Charles’ son and asked if he regretted not coming down. He agreed he had a bit of remorse. I called him, “Dumbass,” then quickly apologized as I didn’t really know him so I shouldn’t be calling him dumbass. I then held my fingers in an “L” shape to my forehead and called him, “Knucklehead.” He said he was ok with being called dumbass. I said that it was more fitting since it was a dumbass move not to come down.0401 gurlz gotta eat ladies with charles

We had a lovely remainder of the evening before finally returning home.

Engine Hrs: 91.0 – 92.0 Time: 5:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Conditions: sunny
Vessel: Gurlz Gotta Eat, Beneteau Barracuda 9

Leave a Reply

