► Like Glass: March 27, 2015

Friday 27 March 2015
Opening Night for Stoney’s Brooms Island

Journey: Triple L Estate – Clarkes Landing, Hollywood – Stoney’s, Broomes Island – Clarkes Landing, Hollywood – Triple L Estate

1183 jeff lori stefanieThroughout the entire day we had a very gray, overcast, rainy day. So rainy that I thought for sure we would not be going out on the boat and instead we would spend the evening at Snelman’s. I had been periodically texting with Rick, Stefanie, and Jeff all day. At one point, mid-afternoon, I texted that a decision had been made – because of weather we would go to Snelman’s. Close to 5 pm, however, the rain had passed leaving only an overcast sky. I sent out yet another text saying plans had again changed and we planned on 1187 bridge glass waterleaving our pier at 6 pm for Broomes.

The sun first peeked through the clouds at 5:52 pm. An encouraging sign … had it not ducked back behind a thick carpet of clouds. Oh well, no rain.

Rick and Stefanie came to our house and we departed promptly at 6:00 pm. We then went to Clarkes Landing to pick up Jeff. Even with the overcast sky, we had a beautiful ride up the river. The water was like GLASS! So nice and flat.

I was actually surprised to see so many people at Broomes so early – usually it’s fairly mile until after 7:00. I guess everyone is excited about 1202 kristine edie lori stefanieStoney’s opening night. We saw nearly all of our Broomes friends, which was nice. A good send off before I leave tomorrow for Mozambique and Lesotho.

After only one beer I switched to only unsweet iced tea. I explained to Jeannie as I am the responsible captain for the ride home I had to keep my wits about me. She responded, “And I appreciate that.”

7059 glass waterWe stayed much later than I expected, but I didn’t care since I’ll be spending many hours on a plane for the next few days. Eventually Lori made the sign that it was time to go home. We gathered everyone on board and headed for home. The water was still flat, like glass, which made for a nice ride.

We had remembered to bring the defogger which helped keep the windows clear. Unfortunately the sky had remained rather overcast so we did not have much night light which made me even more attentive and glad I had drank only tea. It would have been absolutely gorgeous if a full moon had been rising on the horizon. Oh well, hopefully that night will come.

We returned Jeff to Clarkes Landing. It’s sooo much easier dropping off young, spry, boat savvy people … get close to the pier and let them jump rather than having to do a proper tie up. Once we made sure he was safely ashore we returned home to Triple L Estate.

Engine Hrs: 82.5 – 83.6      Time: 6:00 pm – 10:20 pm
Conditions: gray, overcast, rainy
Vessel: “Gurlz Gotta Eat”, Beneteau Barracuda

Leave a Reply

