► Full Moon in Broad Daylight: October 26, 2014

SUNDAY 26 OCTOBER 2014

Journey: Triple L Estate – Stoney’s, Broomes Island – Sea Breeze – Stoney’s, Broomes Island – Triple L Estate

2339 fordBefore we left I turned on the docklights. Lori said, “That’s a bad omen.” We both wanted to be home early, but I turned the lights on anyway. I’m glad I did.

We went to Stoney’s to see if anyone survived their end-of-season party on 2344 fordSaturday night. The ride up river was rough going – directly into very rough water. Large white caps cover the river. It’s probably the roughest I’ve ever experienced the river.

Not surprising, Stoney’s was at first rather quiet. We sat inside, at first, as the outside bar had been emptied. I didn’t mind as we had an opportunity to talk with Jeannie for a while. It sounds like the end of season party lasted late into the night. They did open up the bar in order to clean it so the group of us went to sit outside since it was such a lovely day.

0031 bennetsAt one point Lori came out of the main building with incredible news. She had been talking with a couple that sat inside and found out they are the parents of our friend’s new husband. SMALL WORLD! I rushed back in and as soon as they saw me the woman threw her arms open and gave me a big hug. Too funny, earlier I had commented to the woman about how much I liked her du-rag. (Not being a biker I don’t know the proper spelling.) I posted the pic of us on fb and to my surprise, they knew also Lori’s niece and her husband and had met the new baby AND had also met Lori’s sister.

2361 pat titanicWhile talking with Pat and Mary I heard Lori offer to take them out on the boat. I suggested we go to Sea Breeze – which everyone agreed to. On our way up the river, Pat’s hat blew off while sitting in the bow seat. Fortunately, his hat landed in the bow area floor. As he reached down to pick it up he fell onto the floor and wasn’t able to get back up. Instead he ended up rolling around on the bow floor laughing. Fortunately I didn’t have to worry about him falling out since we have high gunwales.

Once at Sea Breeze I thought we might tie up at the end of the pier. That was quickly nixed as the wind 2362 pat moonand waves would have bashed the boat into the pier so instead we pulled into an inside slip. We had a few drinks at Sea Breeze – some more than others. As dusk passed into night we decided to head back to Broomes and then home. Pat had a very difficult time getting on the boat. I had no idea how drink he was… he grabbed a hold of our boarding handle and started to sway back and forth. I grabbed his shirt and pulled him into the boat. In the process we heard something snap. At first Lori and I thought he had broken the boarding handle. Later we discovered he had broken the pin at the bottom of the rod holder that keeps rods from falling through.

As I pulled Pat on board he yelled, “Oh no, I lost my flip flop!” With it being so dark, windy, and rough we knew it would be hopeless to even try to look for it, so we told him it was a lost cause. As we pulled out of the slip Pat said, “Here’s the other one,” and threw his remaining flip flop far over board.

As we approached Broomes Island I told Mary there was one thing, and one thing only, that she had to do – get Pat off the boat and onto the pier without him falling into the water. Once they alighted safely onto shore Lori and I headed for home. Until we were leaving Sea Breeze we had no idea Pat was quite that drunk.

As we pulled into our cove, and saw the dock lights on, I smiled and said, “See, this is why I try to always turn the dock lights on before we leave.”
Time: 1:15 pm – 7:50 pm
Engine Hrs: 64.1 – 65.8
Conditions: very sunny, breezy, mostly warm
Vessel: Beneteau Barracuda 9

Leave a Reply

