► VIP: October 16, 2014

THURSDAY 16 OCTOBER 2014

Journey: Triple L Estate – Stoney’s, Broomes Island – Triple L Estate

Today Lori and I drove up to Annapolis for VIP day at the powerboat show. I was far more interested in going to the booths since we had already bought our boat. Glancing at some o fhte boats, however, I didn’t see one of similar size that even interested me. We did get to finally see the Chaparral 327 SSX bowrider with a berth. I was actually impressed at the spaciousness of the berth and galley, which also included a tv. We had considered the Chaparral, prior to the Beneteau, but I can come up with 3 or 4 good reasons of why I prefer the Barracuda including being a year round boat and having the protective pilot house.

2099 bridgeOn the way home from Annapolis, Lori worried about timing so I dropped her off at Broomes Island for cornhole. When Joe saw us he asked, “What, no boat?” I smiled and told him I was on my way home to get it. I drove home, fed Sophie, and the two of us took off for Broomes Island. Although most of the day had been overcast, when we left the sky had cleared up considerably and the sun shined brightly.

When I arrived at Broomes, Lori, along with Anthony, met me along the wall to help with my tie up. As Lori secured the stern I threw Anthony a bow line instructing him to hold on to that for Lori. Without prompting, he wrapped the line around a piling a few times. He explained to Lori what he had done. We told him he did exactly what should be, and needed to be, done. Impressive.

I had gotten an alert that there was an accident in Prince Frederick causing major delays. Lori and I must have just missed it. Danny told Lori that Doris was stuck in the delays and may not arrive in time for their first game. Fortunately, she did make it, although for a while Lori was quite nervous. We had yet another lovely evening at cornhole and returned home after an uneventful ride. (Nothing wrong with uneventful and safe.)

2119 sunset

Time: 5:20 pm – 9:00 pm
Engine Hrs: 57.3 –
Conditions: most of the day overcast, clearing bright sky by late afternoon
Vessel: Beneteau Barracuda 9

Leave a Reply

