► Not Going Down Alone: September 1, 2014

Monday 1 September 2014

Journey: Triple L Estate – Solomons Yachting Center, Solomons Island – Annapolis Yacht Sales, Annapolis

7402 tedOn Sunday I asked Ted if he’d be interested in riding up the Bay with me to Annapolis. We needed to take the boat in for its 20 hour service and to have a few items completed – such as moving the swim ladder to the port side and having it bottom painted. Ted immediately agreed, partly for the boat ride but also because he didn’t want to be roped into oystering with Missy. I arranged to pick him up at Solomons 7408Yachting Center at 9:30.

The morning began with a light rain which promised to end by 9 a.m., which it did before I reached Solomons Island. Ted arrived at the Yachting Center just as I finished fueling and we were soon on our way out to the Bay. Once I realized how mild the waves were I asked Ted if he’d be game for going up to the flybridge. Of course he 7437 st thomas pt lighthousewas, so we undid the cover and scrambled up to the upper helm.

As usual, captaining from the flybridge felt like we were slowly chugging along. There were a few times I worried I might actually fall asleep. It seemed to take forever to get to Chesapeake Beach and North Beach. At around Herrington Harbor area we moved 7481 bay bridgeback down to the pilot house. I pointed out to Ted how we were going along at the same speed as before but now it felt like we were racing up the Bay.

I’m glad we switched to the lower helm. As we approached St. Thomas Point Lighthouse and Annapolis the waves became a bit more significant, mostly resulting from an increase in boating traffic. I was happy to 7446 cargo ship bay bridgehave a previous track on the GPS, from our sea trial, so that I could simply follow that track to the yacht sales dock otherwise I would have had to pay a lot more attention to navigation and charts.

74647483 go fast boat

74937498 american flagsLori met us at the pier when we arrived. She pointed out a spot that involved squeezing between two docked vessels. At first I planned on simply docking with bow towards shore because of the surrounding boats. I then changed my mind and did a tight maneuvering turn so that the bow pointed out simply so that it would look more impressive to the yacht sales staff when they arrived the next morning.

Once docked we covered everything up and drove home. On the way Lori thanked Ted for coming along. According to her, “I know she could make the journey on her own, BUT, if anything did happen it’s always nice to have someone to go down with.” Geez, I’m sure Ted felt special after hearing that.

Time: 9 am – 12:00 pm (leave Solomons Island at 9:30 am)
Engine Hrs.: 21.0 – 23.7
Conditions: overcast with light rain in the morning, some clearer sky by mid-morning, waves about 1 ft until we neared Annapolis when waves became 2+ foot
Vessel: Gurlz Gotta Eat, Beneteau Barracuda 9

Fuel: 33.4 gallons @ 21.3 hrs
$3.80/ gallon

Leave a Reply

