► Never Growing Up: July 18, 2014

FRIDAY 18 JULY 2014

Journey: Triple L Estate – the Beach – Kingfishers, Solomons Island – Triple L Estate
Time: 12:15 pm – 2:30 pm Engine Hrs.: 123.2 – 124.5

Journey: Triple L Estate – Stoney’s, Broomes Island – Triple L Estate
Time: 6:00 pm – 8:10 pm Engine Hrs.: 124.5 – 125.2
Conditions: sunny and warm Vessel: 23’ Seaway

4716 jordan jetskiI’ve been waiting for a good time to take Jordan out so he could learn how to ride the stand-up jet ski. I originally thought we’d go to the Beach and learn there, but then I realized that may not happen before he leaves. Instead, I figured to just let him learn in our cove.

 

4727 jordan jetskiHe did surprisingly well. I followed him in the boat and told him to ride over to the Beach. Once there, however, I realized that no one was home so I thought we’d return to Triple L Estate. Jordan asked if he could buzz by Solomons boardwalk. Of course, why not strut your stuff? I do it all the time.

 

4748 jordan jetskiAfter cruising the boardwalk he asked if I’d be interested in going to Kingfishers. Great idea. Obviously he felt quite comfortable riding the stand-up. At Kingfishers I parked along the wall and then tied him up to the side of the boat. I realized I should have grabbed hi shirt before we left the pier, but I didn’t think we’d be stopping anywhere. Oh well, he could wear his life vest as a shirt. He also only had water booties on for 4814 sail schoolshoes, rather than flip flops. We ended up sitting outside on the patio so his attire did not pose a big problem.

I talked him into trying a Rockfish Gyro rather than a burger. He can get a burger anywhere, it’s much more difficult to find rockfish or crab.

After eating we returned home. Afterwards he said he had even greater respect for my jet ski abilities – not only do I ride the ski but I also purposely jump wakes!

 

4816 osprey land4826 wm b tennyson

 

4856 jordan jetski

4860 jordan jetski4881 jets4920 john tommy4930 john tommy4908 edie kayakersIn the evening we had a quiet, uneventful time at Stoney’s. Tommy was there with one of his new toys – he recently bought not one, but two small little speed boats. He and John went out for a little ride and it looked like two little kids with a new toy.

4938 edieWe saw Edie arrive, kayaking with friends. They left shortly before us. As we left Island Creek we slowly came up behind them, (theme from “Jaws”) and then I did a horn blast that woke them up a bit.

Leave a Reply

