► Bozos on the Beach: July 13, 2014

Sunday 13 July 2014

Journey: Triple L Estate – Battle Creek – Stoney’s, Broomes Island – Triple L Estate

Time: 12:15 pm – 6:00 pm        Engine Hrs.: 118.9 – 120.3
Vessel: 23’ Seaway
Me and Lori

We went up to Battle Creek again today because Tony said Ron and Theresa would be coming. When we arrived I was stunned at how many boats were already beached. We found a sliver of an opening in which to pull leaving barely enough room between the boats to walk.

4385 beach bozosThere was a large gap in which to park but a large floating toy blocked the area. We soon found out the Bozos had tied the toy between boats to block the area in order to ‘save the spot’ for friend who had gone over to Sea Breeze. All of us thought that it was WAY WRONG but no one was willing to confront the Bozos. People were even more upset when friends arrived and the Bozos refused to move forcing the friends to leave. It became even more aggravating when the boat the spot was being saved for did not return for a VERY long time. SO VERY RUDE. I hope we don’t see them as regulars at the beach.

panarama beached boats

When Tony and Suzanne arrived with Ron and Theresa, Ron came up to me all bursting with pride to show me the micro-brew he had brought, saying, “I bet you’ve never had this before.” He held up a bottle of Spitfire from England. I start to laugh and say that yes I have tried Spitfire. I then add, “Not only have I tried Spitfire, but Lori and I have toured the brewery.” “What?!” he exclaims. “Yep, when Lori and I went to England the brewery is near to where our friends live.” He looked almost dejected. Too funny. (Not funny that he felt dejected, but he was so excited to introduce me to a new beer and I had actually toured the brewery).

Knowing Ron and Tony, both microbrew aficionados, would be at Battle Creek, I had packed a bottle of beer I had brought back from Istanbul, a Koch from Taps brewery. Now that’s a beer they hadn’t tried before. Feeling up to the challenge, Ron said he had another beer he’s sure I hadn’t tried – 16 Mile. Of course I had. Stunned, he asked how. It’s out of Deleware near to where Lori’s mom used to live. Ahhhh, now he really needs to step up his game.

4423 julie with sisterLori and I are really enjoying hanging out at Battle Creek. More fun and affordable than sitting at a bar. Also, it’s nice to go out, float, and cool off in the water.

In the mid-afternoon I was surprised, and delighted, to see Tommy and Julie show up on their Scout. Fortunately, someone had just left which allowed them to squeeze onto the beach. I’ve missed talking with Julie. I had the pleasure of also meeting her sister.

4429 beach boats

By late afternoon we headed to Broomes Island to have a late lunch – early dinner. We did not hang out there for very long as we were tired. As we said good-byes, everyone kept saying, “You’re leaving? You just got here!”

Although the water was somewhat rough going down river, it wasn’t nearly as bad as yesterday.

Leave a Reply

