► Cheated out of a Warm Sunny Day: October 30, 2013

Wednesday 30 October 2013

Journey: Triple L Estate – Solomons Yachting Center – Kingfishers, Solomons Island – Clarkes Landing, Hollywood – Triple L Estate

baby boy oysteringIt was suppose to be a lovely warm day, so I took the day off in order to enjoy the weather. In the morning, however, gray clouds filled the sky and it periodically rained throughout the morning. I was NOT amused.

By late morning it looked as though the rain had finally passed, but the cloudy sky remained. I decided to go out regardless, after all I did take the day off. I originally planned on going out with ‘My Little Mistress’ but I noticed quite a bit of water had accumulated in the hold while simply floating near the dock. Because of this, I put it back on the lift and took the ‘African Kween’ instead.

pelicanslighthousepatuxent prideSophie and I took off with hopes of a decent day. Being the middle of the week, I decided to go to Kingfishers to see Eric. En route I decided to stop at Solomons Yachting Center to add 10 gallons of fuel into the tank since I don’t know if Lori had added any while I was gone. At Kingfishers I tied Sophie on the back deck where she could look inside the restaurant. Many people commented that she behaved so well.

I sat at the bar chatting with Eric while he caught up on paperwork. He then had to leave for a quick appointment. While he was going I took Sophie for a walk down the boardwalk. Joanna joined us, which was a bit of a surprise.
pier patuxent
redneck ladder
During our walk I noticed an interesting ladder on the roof configuration. Now that’s just a bit of redneck action going on. I also saw a work boat traveling down river with a nice rolling wake. I thought it would be a LOT of fun to jump that wake on my jet ski.
miss terry wake
By the time we returned to Kingfishers, Eric had already returned. He came back needing an escape, so I volunteered to take him away from all this. He had two options – leave by boat and go somewhere, or take his car, but Sophie would have to be able to go along. He chose the boat.

jetWe decided to go to Clarkes Landing. At Clarkes I tied Sophie to the outdoor patio. She seemed to enjoy that as a sweet dog from the neighborhood came over to visit her.

While sitting at the bar Eric introduced me to the owner, Rusty. I didn’t expect him to be so young. We chatted a bit about the progress being made on the Lighthouse, which they are building and home to occupy by January.

I happened to notice, and commented on, the motif of my coaster. Rusty said it was for the ‘old-bay-esque’ spice they use which is mad right here in Hollywood. Cool. Then Nick passed by and asked if I knew Buzz and Carol. ‘Yes,’ I said, “they’re my neighbors.” Nick said the spice is made by their son-in-law, Trevor. Wow! Small world!

magesticJust as we were finishing up, Lori called to say she was home. So, we went to Triple L Estate to pick her up. Rather than return Eric to Kingfishers by boat we ended up driving him back before Lori and I went out for dinner.

All that and I didn’t get a picture of Eric out on the boat! How unlike me to not get a picture of something. Although, missed opportunities is so like me.

Time: 12:15 pm – 4:30 pm
Conditions: rainy in morning, cloudy most of the day
Vessel: 23’ Seaway fishing boat

Leave a Reply

