► One Boat Down: September 24, 2013

Tuesday 24 September 2013

Journey: Triple L Estate – Forest Landing – Kingfishers, Solomons Island – Mill Creek, Calvert County – up Patuxent River to green marker 13 – Blackstone Marina – Forest Landing

Engine Hrs: 507.8 – 509.4 Time: 2:10 pm – 5:00 pm
Vessel: Chaparral 260 SSi Bowrider
Lori and me

low copterwind and wineLori wanted to make sure the Chaparral was on the trailer before I left the country. Since I was home sick today, Lori thought it would be a good opportunity to do that today while we had a window of opportunity.

lighthouse restaurantrhapsody in blueistaboa portistaboa nashvilleI picked Lori up at Forest Landing where she left the truck and trailer. We then headed to kingfishers for a late lunch/ early dinner. We sat inside, at the bar, listening to people talking on the other side of the bar. At one point a man was talking about Vince and said, “What is the word to describe how I feel about Vince?” I quickly answered for him, “LOVER!” Everyone cracked up laughing. He said he was leaning in that direction but it’s a non-sexual, platonic love. I said, “Oh, so it’s a BROMANCE.” One woman couldn’t see me because of the bar bottle blocking her view. She could no longer contain herself and said, “Who is saying all this?” She stood up on her bar stool to have a peek, smiled, waved, and sat back down.tug me stern crop

emily anne mcallisterookpik canadaKnowing we still had fuel to burn, after lunch we took a short tour of Mill Creek in Calvert County. During this time, Lori took the helm. When we exited the no wake zone of Solomons, Lori opened up the throttle and away we went. She had us cruising at over 4100 RPM. (I usually cruise between 3200 and 3600 RPM). It was her attempt to burn more gas. We went up the Patuxent River until about green marker ‘13’ before returning to Cuckold Creek.

We stopped at Blackstone Marina in order to pump out the head. We haven’t used the head all season so I was a bit amazed at the amount of liquid we sucked out. I guess those periodic cleanings added up.

After pumping out we returned to Forest Landing and loaded the boat onto the trailer. I’m always slightly nervous when I do this since it’s such a rare occurrence I don’t have a lot of experience. Of course (and fortunately) the boat was loaded smoothly and without incident.

So ends Season 2013 for the Chaparral. It makes it A LOT LESS sad knowing I have the year round fishing boat.

boat housenavy planecarina black rock ct
cat

Leave a Reply

