► Pier Stalking: September 7, 2013

Saturday 7 September 2013

Journey: Triple L Estate – Judy’s house – Len’s Marina – Triple L Estate

tow boat usaussi sailboatSince it was such a gorgeous day, we wanted to be outside. I recommended taking the African Kween for a ride up to Len’s in order to fill up the gas tank. I don’t think we’ve ever had it completely full. I’ve wanted to calculate, or at least estimate, our fuel efficiency. With the unreliable fuel gauge I was curious to see just how much fuel it would take to fill it compared to the gauge reading.

As we neared Len’s we noticed someone moving around in Judy’s yard. Lori recommended we swing by and say “hi”. It ended up being Judy out in the yard and she welcomed us ashore. Shoe worried, slightly, that Sophie might bother her little dog. We assured her that her little dog would end up being the dominate alpha dog when it came to Sophie. That eased her concerns.

houseswamp kayakersWalking towards her house I commented that this is the first time I’ve ever been on her land. All the other times we stayed on our jet skis at the pier. She gave us a tour of her house which included a nice elevator! She has a lot of furniture pieces that I admired. While chatting we saw kayakers going through the adjacent swamp. Judy says that happens all the time. I never would have thought to kayak through a swamp but she says it’s a lot of fun. That’s what you do when you kayak.

cloudsjudy bezelAfter a couple of hours of chatting with Judy, we needed to finally leave in order to get fuel. We zipped over to Len’s Marina and put in 14 gallons of gas. I talked with young Len as I fueled and asked about a 6 hp outboard motor. I explained how someone had mentioned that they had seen one at Len’s. Len couldn’t think of any 6 hp other than the one on the boat his son uses. I took a look around the boat yard but I didn’t see anything. I’ll have to ask Steve more details.

When we finished at Len’s I zipped to the other side of the river to see if we might see any activity at Eric’s house. Lori texted him but we saw and heard nothing so we went home.
erics houseTime: 2:20 pm – 5:25 pm
Conditions: cloudy and a bit cool if in the shade
Vessel: 23’ Seaway fishing boat
Lori, Sophie, Me and a cooler

Leave a Reply

