► Bon Voyage: August 26, 2013

Monday 26 August 2013

Journey: Triple L Estate – Calvert Marina, Solomnos – Triple L Estate

We went over to Calvert Marina to visit with Bob and Stephanie on September Song. They will be leaving the area early tomorrow and I thought it would be nice to go say goodbye.

En route we saw a gorgeous wood, Chris Craft/ Hacker Craft boat going down river. I thought it might be the same boat we saw yesterday at Stoney’s. It ended up being a different boat by the name of “Seldom Seen”. Such a lovely boat.

seldom seen wood baotseldom seen wood boatfrisky work boat
far horizonsWhen we entered Solomons Island area I noticed that Far Horizons had returned. Too bad it wasn’t still around when Jordan and I had gone out that first day I had seen it.

I expected to stay for only a short visit as I thought they had dinner plans. Instead, they had invited Joe and Dawn (Pixie Dust) over to also enjoy evening cocktails.
bob lorilori dawn stephanie

As we sat there we noted that the base seemed to be particularly active this evening. Oh yes, can you say Syria? Had I not had plans, I probably would have just sat out in the river and watched all the different aircraft going in and out of the base.
copter masts
plane belly
plane masts
low flying plane
Once we finally went home I was surprised at how low many of the aircraft were flying. At one point I almost expected people to jump out of a helicopter into the water. As we approached the bridge I noticed this funky vessel heading up river. It looked more like a research vessel rather than a pleasure craft but I couldn’t see any markings indicating that it was affiliated with any research organization. It almost looked like a tank on the water.
trimarantrimaranTime: 4:45 pm – 7:15 pm
Conditions: nice and sunny
Vessel: 23’ Seaway fishing boat
Me, Lori and Sophie

Leave a Reply

