► Historical Perspective: July 29, 2013

Monday 29 July 2013

Journey: Triple L Estate – Calvert Marine Museum, Solomons – Triple L Estate

Engine Hrs: 489.0 – 490.0 Time: 3:10 pm – 6:00 pm
Conditions: hot and sunny
Vessel: Chaparral 260 SSi Bowrider

Kristine Terry jump wakeThis morning, at about 7:45 am, Terry and I took the jet skis out to jump the wake of September Song as it departed Solomons. Lori followed behind in the fishing boat with Chloe and Thelma in order to watch.

I’m glad that I had taken Terry out yesterday to get a feel for the stand-ups. I’m also VERY VERY glad I let him ride the Yamaha. A big thank you for having the Beach as a place to learn.

kristine jump wake rtAs we prepared to leave the pier I told Terry, when it comes to jumping wake there is one major rule I hadn’t taught him yet – stay out of my way.

We found September Song waiting just outside of the Solomons channel. And away we went.
terry kristine jump wake

We had lovely giant wake at the very beginning. Unfortunately, I had a difficult time on the back side of the wake as I came around to have another go at the wake. I think Stephanie and Bob noticed my wipes out so they reduced their wake, much to my disappointment. Hopefully I’ll have another opportunity to jump their wake when they return to Solomons.

chloe terry thelmaairboatIn the afternoon we decided to go to Calvert Marine Museum. I looked forward to showing them, especially Terry, the display of when the British used the Patuxent River in their quest to march into Washington DC during the War of 1812. On our way out of Cuckold Creek, we passed the air boat. I wasn’t completely surprised to see it out, Terry and I heard it earlier.

As we rounded Solomons Island and entered the channel we noticed a large vessel tied dockside. What a treat. I had not seen that vessel before. We noticed people wiping it down and guessed that would be the crew. I most admired the rubber duckie docked at the transom – it had a nice bimini attached. I had never before seen a rubber duckie with a bimini.

impetusimpetusimpetusSo many things to notice – the front crow’s nest, the finely polished silver bell, the additional tenders stored on deck, and the bulbous bow nose just under the water surface. Usually you tend to see that feature on ocean going vessels of a much, MUCH, larger size. The transom read Impetus, from George Town, British Virgin Islands. I had heard of the US Virgin Islands, but not the British VI. I don’t know why.

impetus bell
We slowly passed, in order to admire all her features, as we made our way to the museum.

*Note: I found a web site that provided a bit of information on Impetus:
Flag: Cayman Islands
Draught: 8.5 m = 27 ft 10 in (which seems wrong)
Size: 29.8 m = 97 ft. 9 in
MMSI: 319665000
Callsign: ZCOO8

At the museum I marveled at the number, and variety of vessels that not only currently ply the waters of the Chesapeake Bay, but the variety throughout history. How purpose, technology, and tools influenced design. I’m actually impressed with the quality of this little county museum.

Unfortunately, we didn’t have a lot of time at the museum as it closed at five. Mental note to self – if going to the museum, start earlier in the day, preferably morning.

wm b tennyson
drake tail boat
log canoe finish

One comment

  1. […] said drake tail I knew EXACTLY what boat she was talking about. I even had a picture of it on my Captain’s Blog from when we had gone to the museum a few days ago. During our visit, of all the boats I saw, that […]

Leave a Reply

