► Don’t Judge my Dinghy: July 26, 2013

Friday 26 July 2013

Journey: Triple L Estate – Solomons Yachting Center – Washburn Marina, Solomons – Kingfishers, Solomons Island – Triple L Estate

Engine Hrs: 485.0- – 486.4     Time: 10:15 am – 1:22 pm
Conditions: slight rough, pleasant weather, low humidity
Vessel: Chaparral 260 SSi Bowrider
Lori, Terry, Thelma, Chloe and me

Chloe Thelma Terry
The British have come. Terry, Thelma, and Chloe arrived late last night. Once everyone woke up and had a decent breakfast we went out on the boat to give them an introduction to the area. First thing on the agenda, however, was fuel as we had less than a quarter tank of gas.

september song launchseptember song launchseptember song gets wetOnce we finished at the Yachting Center, we cruised over to Washburn Marina to see if September Song had yet been launched. We arrived just as they began to move her from on the hard to the water. We drifted near to the marina and watched until she had been launched. Once they successfully launched September Song we went over to Kingfishers for lunch.

En route to Kingfishers we noticed Miss Ellen’s door was open with people inside. I pulled in behind, as close as I dare, and honked the horn. Nothing. We then yelled Bob’s name. Still nothing. I saw Bob’s arm, and noticed his friend James inside, but still NOTHING. After a lot of honking and yelling we finally gave up and continued on to Kingfishers.

I later texted Julie letting her know her dad had dissed us. She called to ask if he had seen us, and he said no. She said he sounded VERY disappointed that he hadn’t heard us as he would have invited us in to visit.

After lunch we returned to the house so Chloe and Thelma could recuperate from jet lag.

Journey: Triple L Estate – Washburn Marina – Triple L Estate

Time: 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Conditions: slightly rough, sunny, pleasant weather
Vessel: 18’ Simmons Sea Skiff replica

Terry and me

>coastal spiritsOnce we returned so Thelma and Chloe could rest I wanted to go back out again to say hi to Bob and Stephanie. I decided to take the Sea Skiff in order to run out some of the old gas. Terry wanted to go along, so away we went.

On our way down Cuckold Creek I noticed Coastal Spirits also headed ‘out to sea’. It took a bit of time but I finally did get Buzz’s attention. I tried to talk Terry into mooning Buzz, but he wouldn’t.
cruiser
We arrived at Washburn Marina and tied up to September Song’s stern. We went inside and visited for a while. During our visit I told them I would REALLY like to jump their wake as they left Solomons Island while they took photos from their boat. They agreed to this plan – I’m SOOOoooo excited.
september song
Thinking that perhaps Lori may want to begin preparing dinner, I thought it wise to head for home. Prior to leaving, Bob gave us a tour of their home, including the engine room. That’s the area Bob most wished Lori hadn’t missed seeing. Impressive area. I would have liked to ask more questions. Oh well, all in due time.

Earlier in the morning I had noted that the NOAA boat wasn’t docked at its usual slip. I wondered if it were out on maneuvers collecting research. Later I noticed it docked at Calvert Marina. As we left Solomons we saw quite a few trawler like boats coming into the channel. In the afternoon, as we left Washburn Marina and September Song, I noticed A LOT of trawler like vessels congregated along where NOAA usually docks. There must have been some sort of gathering arranged for the weekend. That explains why NOAA had moved.

trawlers

Journey: Triple L– Stoneys, Broomes Island – Triple L

Engine Hrs: 486.4 – 487.3
Time: 5:50 pm – 9:50 pm
Conditions: nice, slight breeze
Vessel: Chaparral 260 SSi Bowrider

Lori, Jordan, Terry, Thelma, Chloe and me

chloe thelma terryWe went for Friday night at Stoney’s. The bar was packed, and surprisingly – packed with a lot of people Lori and I didn’t know. Locals usually predominate on Friday nights. It may have had something to do with having a performer on this particular Friday.chloe thelma

We found an open table, luckily, and put in our drink orders. We informed the Brits that Orange Crushes topped the list for signature drinks. They each ordered one. We warned everyone to set two crushes as their limit. Thelma couldn’t even finish her first and instead shared it amongst others. I don’t know if Terry ordered a second, but I know Chloe did. When she ordered her third we reminded her about the two limit suggestion. Instead she said, “I’m a college student.” Thelma added, “Yes, and vodka is your drink.” Before she even started her third crush, Chloe had certainly loosened up and seemed quite friendlier and chattier than usual.
crushes

tommy julie dogs
We introduced them to friends, but crowd and performer noise hampered conversations. At one point a go fast pulled in and, of course, had its loud engines roaring. The noise was so bad it stopped everyone from being able to talk, even the performer did not continue. When the go-fast finally shut off his engines the entire bar erupted in applause. The guy probably didn’t get the connotation and instead thought the applause was in admiration.

jeff kari tyI told Terry and Thelma our boat had the option of through the hull exhaust so it would sound more like the go-fast boat. They asked, “Why didn’t you get that?” Because I don’t have insecurity about the size of my penis,” I answered.

dinghy size

After dark o’clock we were ready to go home. I made sure all the navigational lights worked and noticed how very dark it seemed. I looked up on an app and found out moon rise was not until 10:39 pm. That meant a dark ride home.

I had already donned my life vest by the time everyone boarded. Once on board, I said that although I won’t require they wear a life vest, Lori and I consider it good practice to wear one at night. Lori and Jordan, of course, put theirs on. To my surprise, and delight, everyone put on their vest.

We had a lovely, and safe, ride home.

Leave a Reply

