► Hello Officer: July 24, 2013

Wednesday 24 July 2013

Journey: Triple L Estate – Stoney’s, Broomes Island – Triple L Estate

calvert sheriff boatWe took the fishing boat up to Broomes Island for our weekly Cornhole Tournament games. Upon arrival I noticed a nice police boat docked along the wall, which ended up belonging to Calvert County Sheriff’s Office. I admired the heavy seas this boat most likely could handle.

cornholeAfter our first Cornhole game I noticed some officers on the sheriff’s boat. I went over to ask them a few questions, mostly about the armament capabilities. I also noticed a small rubber duckie arrive, emblazoned with ‘St. Leornard’s VFD’ on its pontoons. The difference in mannerisms and appearance of the two crews was striking. The sheriff’s crew seemed rather military-esque, in mannerisms and speech, as well as more mature although they looked young. The VFD crew, on the other hand, seemed so very young. I wondered if they had even graduated high school.

st leonards vol boatI asked them if they were originally from the area. Of course the VFD boys were local. One sheriff said no, he’s from Kansas City. I said, “I’m also from the Midwest, Iowa.” He asked where in Iowa. “Near Waterloo,” I answered. Another guy on the boat piped up, “I got my first tattoo in Waterloo, Iowa.” Unbelievable. I found he had lived for a few years in, Iowa Falls being one small town he named.

calvert sheriff boatI asked to see the tattoo. He rolled up his right sleeve nearly to his shoulder, revealing his tat. Unfortunately, he wouldn’t allow me to take a photo of him showing it. I don’t know why, it’s not like it was tattooed on his ass or anything. They noted the fishing boat and asked if it was mine. “Yes, it’s one of the three boats we have.” He asked why I was there and I pointed out Cornhole. He seemed a bit disappointed he hadn’t known about Stoney’s having Cornhole.

I had to finally return to play another game of Cornhole. There ended up being quite a few police-types at Stoney’s for some sort of celebration.

Marty Lori

Time: 5:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Conditions: someone choppy on the way up river, nice and smooth on the way home, fairly nice weather, cool compared to last week’s stifling heat and oppressive humidity, light breeze made for a pleasant evening
Vessel: 23’ Seaway fishing boat

Leave a Reply

