► Bay Eagle: July 11, 2013

Thursday 11 July 2013

Journey: Triple L Estate – Kingfishers, Solomons Island – Triple L Estate – Kingfishers, Solomons Island – Triple L Estate
Time: 3:10 pm – 6:00 pm
Conditions: cloudy
Vessel: 23’ Seaway fishing boat

Solo first trip to Kingfishers
Eric and Kristine: first trip Kingfishers – Triple L Estate
Jordan, Eric and Kristine: second trip Triple L – Kingfishers
Jordan, and Kristine: second trip Kingfishers – Triple L

I stayed home today to watch over Lori and her swollen hand. By late afternoon she seemed to be doing all right so I took the fishing boat out for a ride.

Bay Eagle

Bay Eagle

I didn’t have a destination in mind and simply headed for Solomons Island. I stopped to take a photo near red marker “6” at the tip of Solomons Island. As I drifted I noticed a boat coming towards me and two men waving. My first thought, they can’t be in distress, their boat is moving. I then thought, maybe they think I’m someone else. When they got near they asked if there was any place nearby that they could get gas. I said, yes, and pointed out a boat coming out of the Solomons Island as an indicator of where to go. They then asked about the Tiki Bar’s location. I again pointed to the same area saying they’ll find that on the left. I asked where they were from. They said Montgomery County but had just come from Kent Island.They took off towards the island, but instead of going towards the channel, I noticed them heading towards the flats. I didn’t know if they were heading towards the boat that headed towards drum point, or if they were confused by the navigational channels. I went racing after them, pulled out my air horn, and got their attention before they made it to the flats.

Since I was already in the area, I decided to go have a quick beer at Kingfishers. Approaching Kingfishers I noticed a large vessel docked at Bunky’s. Upon closer inspection I saw that it was the College of William and Mary’s research vessel, the Bay Eagle. Cool.

Capt jordan ericWhile at Kingfishers, Eric sat with me. I tried a bottle of 16 Mile, a very light tasting beer. Because of its light taste it seemed as though it would be a beer that Lori might like. While talking with Eric, who claimed to be bored, I asked if he wanted to ride to my house real quick and pick up Jordan. He agreed, and we hopped onto the boat to head for home. En route, Eric commented he had never been to our house by boat.

Jordan met us at the pier and hopped on. Once we had cleared the pier I asked Jordan if he wanted to drive. He jumped at the chance. I gave him a bit of instruction and away we went back towards Kingfishers. As we approached Kingfishers, Jordan worried he would have to bring it into the slip. He gladly handed over the controls to allow me to dock the boat. We stayed at Kingfishers for another drink before deciding to return home. When we got to the house I had Jordan bring it slowly into the slip. He did very well.

Rachel Carson with Bay Eagle

Rachel Carson with Bay Eagle

Leave a Reply

