► Birthday Day: April 27, 2013

Saturday 27 April 2013 – My Birthday

Journey: Triple L Estate – Solomons Yachting Center – Kingfishers, Solomons Island – Stoney’s, Broomes Island – Triple L Estate

I didn’t have any plans for my birthday so we headed over to Kingfishers for lunch. Since we had Sophie we needed to sit outside. Unfortunately, the only available table sat in the shade. It was so chilly in the shade we both needed to wear our coats.

Eric F. was talking with Sean and Sean’s friend, Jonathan. The three fellows stood at the railing, in the sun, nest to our table to chat with us. As soon as I saw an empty table in the sun we all moved to those seats. OOOohhhh, so much warmer.

We had a cute, new waitress serving us. When she heard it was my birthday she said she should get one of the guys to take off his shirt, stand on the table, and sing for me. I said, “Since it’s my birthday, I should be able to choose who takes their shirt off and stands on the table… and I choose you.” Pointing towards Eric she said she didn’t think her boss would appreciate that. I told her, “Your boss knows that it’s very important to keep the customers happy.”

We stayed at Kingfishers much longer than I expected. I had thought we might ride up to Club Billings – but by the time we left Kingfishers it was too late, so we instead headed for Broomes Island. Sam and Kathy had already arrived at Stoney’s, after having first attending the Celtic Festival at James Patterson State Park. On the way up river I finally got a hold of Ted on the phone to ask if he’d be at Stoney’s. He was already there … waiting for me.

When we arrived, Jeannie brought out a bouquet of balloons for me, which included a crab balloon. So nice of her. It was quite breezy and after a while finally put them in the boat so they wouldn’t blow away.

2934 balloon boat

We sat with Sam and Kathy at a table near the bar but in the sun. Sam said it was fun watching the commotion that ensued after I had called Ted. According to Sam, once Ted hung up it was loudly announced, “I have heard from the Kween and she is on her way.”

We, of course, had a lovely time. Fortunately, I was able to stop anyone from actually singing me happy birthday.

I drank a lot of tea, knowing I wanted to be able to enjoy tomorrow.

Engine Hrs: 458.2 – 459.7
Time: 12:40 pm – 8:20 pm
Conditions: sunny; warm in the sun but rather chilly in the shade
Vessel: Chaparral 260 SSi Bowrider
Lori, Sophie, Kristine

Leave a Reply

