► Warm December day: December 3, 2012

Monday 3 December 2012

 Journey: Triple L Estate – Eric and Barry’s, Hollywood Shores – Triple L Estate

Lori and I just returned from many weeks of travel. From September 15 until October 23 Lori and I have spent two weeks in Mozambique, two weeks in Lesotho, and 1 week in the Netherlands. I had only planned on being home for a few days before again traveling, however, Hurricane Sandy persuaded me to reschedule my travel and I ended up being home for about a week. I then left for three weeks in Zambia and one week in Malawi.

I just returned last night, which included meeting the Boyz at the Hole in the Wall for a few drinks which then led to a small group of people coming to our house for drinks. The last person didn’t leave until after 1:00 a.m. Considering I’ve been awake since about 4:00 a.m. Sunday morning, London time, and drinking since about 6:00 a.m. Sunday, London time, I certainly did not expect to be awake until the early hours of today. Yikes!

post 7011 sophie bow riverIt was quite a gorgeous sunny AND WARM December day. Not wanting this delightful day to be wasted we decided to take the boat out for a ride. Since we thought the Boyz would be home we decided to go up to their place.

On the way we see a rather impressive boat traveling down river. I started to think it looked like the Rachel Carson, which is usually tied up at Solomons Island. As it neared we could confirm it was the Rachel Carson. It was traveling down river at a faster clip than I ever thought it could go, and so very quiet. I couldn’t believe a boat that size could be so quiet. I turned the boat off so we could enjoy the majestic vessel in all her glory.

We then noted the HUGE wake that trailed behind; a BEAUTIFUL wake – a jet ski’s dream jumping wake. In our little fishing boat, however, I felt less comfortable and quickly started the boat so I could steer into the tsunami waves coming at us.

Rachel CarsonWe arrived at the Boyz’ house to see the Barbie Truck in the driveway, so we figured Eric would be home. We knocked and knocked and knocked… no answer. I stuck my head in the door and called his name. No answer. Lori stuck her head in the door to call his name and thought she heard the shower going. I listened and agreed. I recommended sending Sophie in to find him, but Lori nixed that idea because of their white carpet. Instead, we choose to sit on the front deck and wait. After a short wait Eric came to the door, wrapped in a towel, saying that we had scared him; he couldn’t figure out who was sitting on his deck.

We sat and chatted with him for a while before finally returning home.

Lance houseAs we neared home we noticed Lance’s house being built. They’ve come a long way in the past few months.

Time: 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Vessel: 23’ Seaway fishing boat
Conditions: warm, for being December, sunny, little wind and mild sea conditions
Fuel: Added five gallons of fuel prior to departing the pier.

Leave a Reply

