► Flat water Regatta: August 22, 2012

Wednesday 22 August 2012

Journey: Triple L Estate – Southern Maryland Sailing Association Regatta – Triple L Estate

Time: 6:10 pm – 7:50 pm Vessel: 18’ Simmons Sea Skiff replica
Conditions: pleasant, not too hot, water FLAT

I went out to see the regatta. On the way out I noticed a rather large vessel making its way up river. It did look pretty in the light.

I arrived at the regatta just as the first race prepared to begin.

There was nearly no wind and the water was flat. So very quiet, especially when I turned off my engine. When I turned off the engine I could hear the various activities on some of the sailboats. On one I could hear a loud bit of music being blared. They had a party happening. On another boat I heard a wailing baby. I only thought, “Yikes! I’m glad I’m not one of the crew members on that boat.” That would make a long slow sail feel like eternity.

The water remained flat throughout the regatta. If I had had more fuel, rather than just a few gallons remaining, I would have taken the little boat out past Drum Point, just to say I’ve had it out on the Bay. Geez, I wish I had a full tank of fuel.

One of the most amazing sights I saw a helicopter coming from the Chesapeake Bay area, LOW to the water enter the mouth of the Patuxent and up river. Just as it passed the RC boat it turns hard port towards the base. It was as though a special fly by had been arranged specifically for the regatta.

It’s serendipitous sightings like these that make me even happier I bothered to come out to watch the regatta.

At around 7:00 pm, almost on the dot, the sun slip behind a wall of clouds and the light went FLAT. Once that happened I decided to head home.

Leave a Reply

