► Witness to a Miracle: July 1, 2012

Sunday 1 July 2012

Conditions: HOT and sunny

Journey I: Triple L Estate – Blackstone Marina – Solomons Yachting Center – Triple L Estate

Engine hrs: 418.5 – 419.3                                               Time: 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Vessel: Chaparral 260 SSi Bowrider

We first went to Blackstone Marina in the hopes of finally pumping out the head, which is long overdue. We arrived only to read that the pump out is only available Wednesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays. Drat. We decided to wait until Wednesday and headed over to Solomons Island in order to fuel.

I happened to note that a couple of different piers had boats tied stern to stern at the end of the pier. I thought to myself, that’s a nice way to have a little party going on between the two boats. Since one pier had two Sea Rays and the other had two Cruisers, it seemed as though they probably knew each other and the decided to meet at Solomons for the weekend.

Journey II: Triple L Estate – Stoney’s, Broomes Island – Triple L Estate

Engine hrs: 419.3 – 420.1                                   Time: 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Lori and I witnessed a miracle today – our neighbors, S and K Boxer, finally accepted our invitation to go out on the boat. Last night, at their pool, we had also invited S’s brother who is visiting from Texas. I thought for sure he would go out but no, he stayed home. What a shame.

We rode up to Broomes Island, each of us pointing out sites of interest along the way. Houses for sale, houses we almost bought, houses of people we know, etc. We arrived at Stoney’s to find our favorite docking area completely occupied. Instead we docked at our preferred slip walked up to the bar and found some seats in the shade.

While having a drink, S realized he knew a guy sitting at the bar – they used to work together so both spoke the same high-tech number language. We ordered lunch. S decided on a Rockfish Gyro, K a Crab Cake, me a Crab BLT without the crab, and we wait for Lori to decide. K leans over to me and whispers, “So, what do you think she’s going to order?” I told her, “I’m thinking she’ll order BBQ Scallops.” K was quite impressed that I ended up being right. When served our food, Jeannie asked S what he thought of his sandwich. Without hesitation S proclaims, “It’s FUCKING AWSOME!” This made Jeannie smile.

While S visited with his friend, K, Lori and I went down to the boat bar to say hello to Eric. On our way, Lori passed a guy that said to her, “Hi neighbor.” Lori stops, and does not recognize him at all. He said, “We met a few weeks ago. You were pretty toasted.” In unison we both say, “I find that hard to believe.” Then Lori asked me, “What were we doing here a few weeks ago?” I shrug and tell her, “I don’t know, check the captain’s log.” He then tells us where he lives. Although not in our immediate neighborhood, I feel as though anyone who passes Greenwell State Park to get home essentially qualifies as a neighbor.

As we sat on the starboard side of the boat bar chatting, K notices Lori talking with a woman sitting at the stern. K asks me, “So, does Lori know her?” “Noooo,” I answer, “I don’t think so. I think they just met.” True story. I later met the woman, half the D of the “Double D” boat. S finally did venture down to the boat bar to join us. I think we all had a lovely afternoon visiting with people.

Thanks to a burst pool hose, we needed to wrap-up the party and head for home. As we prepared to leave, S found it strange to not have anything to do. We told him to just sit back and look pretty. In order to assist with his “guilt” of not helping, we did give him a little bit of rope to hold… and he looked so pretty as he held it. (See pic: isn’t he pretty? He’s so pretty.)

Leave a Reply

